Written by MyHow
Delete an Instagram AccountDeleting your Instagram account and disabling your account is not the same thing. Before doing anything, make sure you understand the difference. Disabling is a temporary deactivation. Your comments, likes, and photos will be hidden not deleted. If you choose to reactive your account, these will once again be visible.
Temporary deactivation of your Instagram account
If you’ve decided to take a break from Instagram and you want to deactivate your account for a limited period of time, here’s what you need to do:
- Log into your Instagram account with your username and password. Note that you have to use a computer or a mobile browser; you can’t disable from within the app
- In the top right corner of the page click your username, and choose “Edit Profile”
- Hit “Temporary disable my account”, which is at the bottom right of the page, and follow the instructions on the screen
Delete Instagram account permanently
Now if you’ve decided to delete your Instagram account forever, there are a few things you need to know. Your account, videos, comments, likes, followers and photos will be removed permanently. You won’t have access to them any longer. To complete the deletion process here’s what you need to do:
- Log into your Instagram account first
- Don’t forget that you must use a computer or a mobile browser. Deleting the account can’t be don from inside the app
- Now head over to the “Delete Your Account page”
- Choose an option from the menu, which is right next to “Why you are deleting your account?”
- Now re-enter your password. You’ll see the option to delete your account permanently right after you’ve selected a reason from the given options
- Click “Permanently delete my account”
It’s done! You’re Instagram-free! It is important for users to know that their account can’t be restored after this process has been completed. You won’t be able to log in again using that same username ever again.
Before making this decision, take a minute to think things through. You will be losing all of your friends, as well as photos and comments. Instagram is a social media website where you’ve struggled to make friends and interact for many years now. Are you sure that now you’re ready to give up all those memories?
Why not disable your account for a few days instead to see how it feels without Instagram. Can you make it for at least 5 days? What about for a whole month? It’s safe to say that if you’re comfortable with not logging in for 30 days, then you can live without Instagram.